How to reduce input latency and make the game smooth.  (Read 82466 times)

Piglet

  • 1337
  • *
  • Posts: 3197
  • Country: gb
Re: How to reduce input latency and make the game smooth.
« Reply #45 on: April 02, 2022, 16:16 »
Wierd - I've been noticing I've been missing things more recently and found I'm somehow running at 30 to 60fps


I re-downloaded the two dll's from the start of this thread and still get same speeds. If I delete them I get wishy-washy screen colours, an odd-feeling game, but back to normal fps.

Not sure what's going on.

Piglet

  • 1337
  • *
  • Posts: 3197
  • Country: gb
Re: How to reduce input latency and make the game smooth.
« Reply #46 on: April 02, 2022, 16:27 »
and without the d3d8.dll in my system directory it feels like shiiit but at high fps. Sluggish display change. Grrr!

Piglet

  • 1337
  • *
  • Posts: 3197
  • Country: gb
Re: How to reduce input latency and make the game smooth.
« Reply #47 on: April 02, 2022, 16:56 »
PC restart made it better. Back to full fps with the d3d8.dll. Still feels really stuttery though. That could be me!

Stealer

  • 1337
  • *
  • Posts: 287
  • Country: gb
    • 76561197992159424
    • StealerNinja
Re: How to reduce input latency and make the game smooth.
« Reply #48 on: April 05, 2022, 18:20 »
PC restart made it better. Back to full fps with the d3d8.dll. Still feels really stuttery though. That could be me!
Did you speak to the IT department? Did they tell you to turn it off then on again?  :))  Sorry couldn't resist the old IT joke/line : :)) O:-)

Glad it's working better for you dude.

I recently bought myself a new x570 mobo swapped everything over then realised my 1600 cpu wasn't supported  :)) ::) I've now got to get a new psu and cpu to go with the mobo  :)) :))
Stealer.T32

Gil-galad

  • Full Member 
  • *
  • Posts: 72
  • Country: pt
  • Hail the Holy Flying Spaguetti Monster!
Re: How to reduce input latency and make the game smooth.
« Reply #49 on: December 18, 2022, 16:47 »
Since I've had strange stuttering, de-synchronization, and input lag lately, I've looked a bit again at this thread. After my tinkering, I have :

Code: [Select]
[Engine.Player]
ConfiguredInternetSpeed=9636
ConfiguredLanSpeed=20000

Code: [Select]
[Engine.LevelInfo]
MaxClientFrameRate=151.000000

I chose this value for MaxClientFrameRate  because I realized that whatever ConfiguredInternetSpeed value you choose to write in your file, the server will overwrite. I've also used the slider made available on miasma freon server options, which goes up to 250, that will not translate in ConfiguredInternetSpeed=25000

The logic here would be, if I'm correct, that, say, if your desired fps is 250, you'd have to set your ConfiguredInternetSpeed to 251 x 64, so to 16064. I've set my fps at 151 because the value the server writes divided by 64 gives me that (9636 / 64=150.5625).

Having a higher fps than the refresh rate of your monitor, if I got it right, may be desirable to achieve lower input latency. However, as the ConfiguredInternetSpeed value will not stick, it seems to me that there's no gain for me to put a value higher than 151 in MaxClientFrameRate. The previous understanding that you had to choose ConfiguredInternetSpeed=20000 to unlock higher fps online seems to be not recommended anymore, since the server lowers it.

Hardware context, if relevant :
My CPU (AMD Ryzen 7 5800X) is somewhat more recent than my GPU (ASRock Radeon RX 5500 XT), and my screen has a 144 Hz refresh rate, pixel count of 4K.

What values would you choose? Did I get something wrong?
« Last Edit: December 18, 2022, 19:39 by Gil-galad »
His sword was long, his lance was keen.
His shining helm afar was seen;
the countless stars of heaven's field
were mirrored in his silver shield.

The Fall of Gil-galad - J. R. R. Tolkien

Grim_Fandango

  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Country: scotland
Re: How to reduce input latency and make the game smooth.
« Reply #50 on: June 12, 2024, 01:53 »
You might be able to squeeze out a few more FPS's by changing the monitor cable.
I found out today that my max res' via HDMI was 3440 x 1440 @ 85Hz, but using Display Port it jumps to 100Hz.

It's also worthwhile checking the refresh rate is set to the highest in Windows.
• Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus, made up genders are from Uranus.
• It's all shits & giggles until someone giggles and shits.
• I wish I had the aim of an Eastern Bloc player.

Stealer

  • 1337
  • *
  • Posts: 287
  • Country: gb
    • 76561197992159424
    • StealerNinja
Re: How to reduce input latency and make the game smooth.
« Reply #51 on: June 13, 2024, 20:59 »
Aye you are right hdmi won't support over 60hz I believe, it's got to be displayport for over that. I've found some variation in display port cables as well. First one I bought only supported 85hz, bought another and now play at 144hz fine. I've got an msi display app to set my refresh rate.
Although I only just wondered if the refresh rate is set in the user.ini of ut2004 - anyone know?
« Last Edit: June 13, 2024, 21:04 by Stealer »
Stealer.T32

Veica

  • 1337
  • *
  • Posts: 721
  • Country: ca
  • \m/
    • xS0NARx
    • VeicaNoriceia
Re: How to reduce input latency and make the game smooth.
« Reply #52 on: June 14, 2024, 14:07 »
It depends on the version - HDMI 2.1should have no issue running 4K up to 120hz with HDR, but 2.0 and earlier do not have the bandwidth to support more that 4K at 60hz or smaller resolutions at higher refresh rates

Source: I struggled with an HDMI 2.0 Nvidia GPU for years until I upgraded recently to a card with HDMI 2.1
Previously known as: xS0NARx, Njordr, Latte, or whatever the "name of the week" was.

Grim_Fandango

  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Country: scotland
Re: How to reduce input latency and make the game smooth.
« Reply #53 on: June 14, 2024, 18:04 »
I'm in a continued battle trying to squeeze each and every little frame from my machine.
I've followed umpteen guides, tried 64 bit, OpenGL, swapping cables, monitors, widescreen fix, setting in-game graphics to low and unchecking all the usual suspects, but my fps never seemed to settle until I dropped the screen res and swapped the HDMI for a DP cable.

My current config gives me avg 115 fps running ut2004(D3D 1024x1080), and 175 fps in 64bit (OpenGL 1920x1080) all on low graphic settings.  I could go lowest, but that sacrifices too much of the visual splendour :)

I was using high graphics on my 35" ultra-wide screen, but was only getting around 85fps at 3440x1440.

I'm not a religious man, but I'm certain I prayed once...definitely swore lots of times!

I'm getting in the 200's on my gaming laptop on highest settings and it plays buttery smooth.
Still can't hit shit though :(


I only just wondered if the refresh rate is set in the user.ini of ut2004 - anyone know?

You can tweak settings in UT2004.ini, or ut2004-win64.ini for 64 bit.
These are mine for now:

[WinDrv.WindowsClient]
MinDesiredFrameRate=201.000000

[SDLDrv.SDLClient]
MinDesiredFrameRate=35.000000

[Engine.LevelInfo]
MaxClientFrameRate=201.000000
• Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus, made up genders are from Uranus.
• It's all shits & giggles until someone giggles and shits.
• I wish I had the aim of an Eastern Bloc player.

Grim_Fandango

  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 113
  • Country: scotland
Re: How to reduce input latency and make the game smooth.
« Reply #54 on: June 14, 2024, 22:50 »
I prefer running the 64 bit version in OGL, but I cannot get text to speech to work.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2024, 12:02 by Grim_Fandango »
• Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus, made up genders are from Uranus.
• It's all shits & giggles until someone giggles and shits.
• I wish I had the aim of an Eastern Bloc player.

holyspam

  • 1337
  • *
  • Posts: 339
  • Country: gr
Re: How to reduce input latency and make the game smooth.
« Reply #55 on: June 19, 2024, 22:44 »
64bit version:
does not have positional audio
timing is slightly off
crashes randomly

there's a custom patch out there for the 32bit version with raw mouse input and high precision timers support
i suggest to use that together with d3d8to9