Can't connect to warfare server  (Read 444 times)

B3yond

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: nl
    •  planet beyond
Can't connect to warfare server
« on: June 01, 2020, 13:58 »
Hi!

First of all : I love the new maps and gameplay!

Since some days i can't connect on the warfare server , i reinstalled UT2004 , patched it but can't play  :'(
It wants to download the maps but they are taking ages to download and after they complete 100% i get an error like "can't move mia.net"

Any suggestions ?



Piglet

  • 1337
  • *
  • Posts: 2851
  • Country: gb
Re: Can't connect to warfare server
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2020, 15:09 »
That sounds odd to me.

Can you get a screenshot of the message you receive?

You should never get slow downloads unless we've missed uploading a file to the redirect server. The symptom of that is that the download goes very slowly and to more than 100%

The only other time that could happen is where the DNS is messed up and your machine can't resolve the address of the redirect server and falls back to trying to load from the game server. Again, downloads will go more than 100%

The redirect is hosted on its own VPS on a different physical machine to the game server, with significantly fast connectivity so if you connect to it it should be as fast as your connection can cope with.

Mia_Net is a mutator that sets the netspeed for connecting clients to a higher value than is normal - this is needed to allow the server to send enough data to provide a better flow of information given the high player numbers. The only way I can think you'd get a problem with it is if you've installed an old version of it to your system directory from cache.

Yeah. Need to see the error message to understand what the issue is.

« Last Edit: June 01, 2020, 15:11 by Piglet »

B3yond

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: nl
    •  planet beyond
Re: Can't connect to warfare server
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2020, 16:26 »

Thanks Piglet!

download goes very slowly and to more than 100% ; yes this happens !

It goes beyond 100% and keeps on loading
 

Tried some other servers and it's the same slow loading of maps

I will try a fresh install again

screenshot
https://imgur.com/12kMJLQ




 

Piglet

  • 1337
  • *
  • Posts: 2851
  • Country: gb
Re: Can't connect to warfare server
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2020, 16:52 »
In a command window please can you type in:

Code: [Select]
nslookup redirect.miasma.rocks
You should get output identical to this in either windows or linux:

Quote
Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    redirect.miasma.rocks
Address:  80.4.151.146

If you get any other Address, or a failed response then your DNS is broken. Do tell us what you get in response.  One of the two options below should fix the problem - but any change you decide to make is at your own risk...I've done both these things on occasion ...

Option 1: Change your DNS provider (even temporarily) to google:

https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using

Option 2: You may be able to force a mapping from the DNS name to the IP by editing your "hosts" file.

See this link on how to do that: https://support.rackspace.com/how-to/modify-your-hosts-file/


However, you should never need to do that. Your ISP should be managing DNS for you properly.





Piglet

  • 1337
  • *
  • Posts: 2851
  • Country: gb
Re: Can't connect to warfare server
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2020, 16:54 »
Ahh - no. Ignore that - I've just looked at the image: "Error moving file"?

Do you have a read-only file system? It sounds like the game cannot write to the ut2004/cache directory.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2020, 16:58 by Piglet »

Nardaq_NL

  • 1337
  • *
  • Posts: 417
  • Country: nl
Re: Can't connect to warfare server
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2020, 17:23 »
Try Run UT2004 as administrator. If this works U need to install UT2004 outside "Program Files"

Windows has a fail save about programs trying to write inside " Program Files" and will be using "C:\Users\<NAME>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore as a redirect. Not sure if this apply to UT2004 as I never installed any game there.

B3yond

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: nl
    •  planet beyond
Re: Can't connect to warfare server
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2020, 17:38 »
Yes , that did the trick!  --> run as admin
I was almost giving up but works fine again.

Thanks ! 

Piglet

  • 1337
  • *
  • Posts: 2851
  • Country: gb
Re: Can't connect to warfare server
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2020, 18:14 »
I wouldn't continue running it like that. I'd move it to a new place and run ut2004 registry fixer to point the registry to the new location.

Then you won't need to run as administrator